advertisement

Old 03-07-2010, 06:35 PM #1

10 yr Member

10 yr Member
Default Anyone ever prevail at the ALJ after doing a horrible job of testifying?

Curious if anyone here has ever been approved after presenting horribly in front of the ALJ, forgetting what your taliking about in mid-sentence, not answering effectively, even contradicting your doctors opinions, well?
Christian is offline   Reply With QuoteReply With Quote

advertisement
Old 03-09-2010, 01:58 PM #2

15 yr Member

15 yr Member

Yes my case was something like that. I am not good at all in social settings. All I basically remember was stumbling thru alot of questions and saying yes sir or no sir to the judge alot.
Hoosier_Daddy is offline   Reply With QuoteReply With Quote
Old 03-11-2010, 01:14 AM #3

15 yr Member

15 yr Member

Is brain fog/difficulty concentrating due to pain/meds/etc one of the reasons that you are applying for ssdi ? Maybe your 'mistakes' could help your case.

Did you have a lawyer with you ? How did they think it went ?
finz is offline   Reply With QuoteReply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 01:02 PM #4

10 yr Member

10 yr Member

It depends why you did a horrible job at testifying (and you may have been better than you think). If you think you did a horrible job because of pain, pain medications or mental issues you're fine. I always tell people that if they're having a terrible day, the judge can see what a terrible day is like. If you're having a good day, you can tell the judge about your bad days. Also, some judges are friendlier than others. Just because a judge is short with you or you don't think was listening, it doesn't actually mean anything. The judges tend to rely on the medical records quite a bit anyway. If your testimony really did hurt your case that the medical records would otherwise support, you can appeal your case.

Quote:
Originally Posted by finz View Post