Myasthenia Gravis For support and discussions on Myasthenia Gravis, Congenital Myasthenic Syndromes and LEMS.

advertisement

Old 03-25-2010, 09:49 AM #1

10 yr Member

10 yr Member
Default You have my heart and my admiration

Hi Everyone--I am a newbie here but have been reading for well over a month now. I want to say how much I admire everyone's tenacity as you live with this horrible, insidious disease. I offer encouragement and support to you as you deal with MG every minute of every day. I did not know much about MG until my sweet, very healthy-up-to-that-point mother was diagnosed Dec. 30. Can you imagine getting this diagnosis at age 92 1/2???? She noticed a problem with her vision while driving in Sept. and promptly went to her Opthamologist. She KNEW something was just not right and he sent her for an MRI, which showed nothing. He told her to rest her eye, keep it closed or wear a patch and return to him in 6 weeks. My mom lived 10 hours away from me---I kick myself now for not going up there to delve into this further because, at the time, I didn't think it sounded right. When she returned to him in Nov., he just said she had double vision but did no further tests, did not send her to a neuro, etc. She was an hour away from DUKE!!! But...not knowing details, I just thought I would take her to my Opth. in Dec. when she would be visiting my family for the holidays. She called me on Dec. 8 saying she could not manipulate anything with her hands...she didn't know what was going on, thought she may have had a stroke...and even thought she might have ALS. She was diagnosed with a mini stroke by her family doctor who did not refer her to a neuro. I got her to my house where she saw a neuro at the University Med. center and was positively diagnosed with MG. Her symptoms were classic and VERY severe. Drooping eyes, unable to wash face, brush teeth, feed herself at times. The mestinon, initially, was like a miracle drug because her symptoms quickly abated. However,