advertisement

Old 01-03-2011, 11:46 PM #1
Grand Magnate

10 yr Member
Grand Magnate

10 yr Member
Question Where is the 'starting point' ?

I just need a pointer on what to do...... ?
I've had a couple of people suggest to me this past year that I should consider disability......but I haven't a clue where to start.

I've been working a wonderful office job for the past 30 years. It breaks my heart to think in terms of having to 'let it go'......or, rather 'IT let ME go', not sure which scenerio will unfold first.
I feel like a sinking ship. My chronic pain condition seems to be gaining the upper hand and I am coming to the realization that I need to step back and take a realistic view of my situation.
I'll spare you by not giving you the long drawn out sob story.

I am just wondering what does a person do when they start becoming aware that they are no longer capable of handling their work responsibilities....not only that, but am costing my company alot of $$ in health benefits. Or to be quite blunt, I feel as tho I am bringing my company down therefore I should consider STEPPING down, kind of as a favor to them......not to mention the stress this brings on me, which further aggravate my pain (and mental) condition.... .......

Tomorrow I will be seeing my pain management doctor and am ready to tell him that I think it's in everyone's best interest that I throw in the towel.
I have 3 physicians involved in my medical care.
Is THIS the 'starting point' ?? Do I ask my Dr if he will 'advocate' for me on the medical side of this issue? My 7 year long battle is in my medical records.
He's the one who sees that I've been slowly 'sinking' this whole time.
Am I correct in this thinking? Kind of like as a courtesy to him?
Or do doctors generally NOT want to 'be involved' with this?

I'm sorry if I sound 'dense'.............I am. I don't know where to start.
Nor do I know the 'language' to speak....

This isn't a complicated work comp issue or anything.....