Spinal Disorders & Back Pain For discussion of all spinal cord injuries, spinal issues, back-related pain or problems.

advertisement

Old 01-12-2011, 01:38 PM #1

10 yr Member

10 yr Member
Confused SCS - T8-11 - Mid-thoracic injury

Hi everyone - this is my first time on a forum of any type so if I do it wrong forgive me - I have suffered in silence for 16 yrs since a Doctor of Osteopathy placed his right hand against my right T 8-12 and placed his left hand on my right shoulder with his forearm over my mouth and twisted me nearly 180 degrees to the left until my thoracic spine was avulzed (sp?) tearing all the tiny muscles, tendons, ligaments holding that part of my spine together - I had a slight injury there which was compounded by 1000 after this treatment.

I could not breathe any deeper than my very upper lungs for 8weeks following and due to certain circumstances was not able to seek other medical care than this doc. The pain along my spine feels sometimes like a broadsword stuck through my spine and sometimes like an ice pick always with sharp breathtaking mind numbing pain. My diaphram and rib cage were displaced to the left as well so the intercostals wrapping around to my sternum are also in constant state of pain and spasm. Even a very light touch is painful. I did not receive an MRI until 2007 because no doc would believe that my pain was mid-thor and not predominately cervical or lumbar.

MRI showed herniation at c-4-5 thrust forward toward throat, 3 herniations at T 8-11 with disks thrust forward toward sternum, and s1-L5 herniation. After years of self-care, suffering in silence due to some weird belief in toughness, alternative medicine and stripping the mucosal layer from my colon from eating aspirin like candy (allergic to Motrin), I read about the brain damage chronic pain causes and finally went to a pain mgmt doc in 2007 because I recognized the symptoms of deterioration in my own cognition.