Traumatic Brain Injury and Post Concussion Syndrome For traumatic brain injury (TBI) and post concussion syndrome (PCS).

advertisement

Old 02-17-2011, 04:14 AM #1

10 yr Member

10 yr Member
Default Returning to work..fragile

I returned to work this Monday on what is known as a 'phased return', i.e. doing half days (hit head a month ago, strugged with work then had a couple of weeks off).

It's not going well. I had felt a bit more like myself the day before and on the first day back was a bit shaky but not bad. On the Tuesday though...OMG. A couple of hours looking at a screen (I work in IT support) and one stressful call and I was way back to being as bad as I was 3 weeks ago if not worse. I staggered home, felt like crap, and then spent the whole of yesterday resting and feeling scared.

Now I have to figure out what to do with work. Back today and hoping to see occupational health.

How have other people coped with going back to work? It's all so unpredictable...Doctors have been useless when it comes to advice and I can't give work any idea on when I'll be well again...

Rant/moan over!
Jane
JaneLdn is offline   Reply With QuoteReply With Quote

advertisement
Old 02-17-2011, 04:28 AM #2

10 yr Member

10 yr Member

Hi Jane, typically, doctors are clueless when it comes to post concussive syndrome because it has a wide variety of effects and you have to experience it personally to understand its consequences. Typically, you'll recover in 3 months at the most. I recommend you just tough things out until then and assume you'll recover soon and feel the way you did before. Only after that time should you begin taking any sort of action (which this site is great for).