advertisement

Old 07-15-2011, 08:47 PM #1

15 yr Member

15 yr Member
Default If you want a good laugh about children's benefits....

I have mentioned the background in a few posts.....I've been collecting SSDI for three years now and still collecting WC until 12/09.

Because the 80% family benfit cap was receached with my WC, my kids get $66 a month each instead of $450 each. That SHOULD have been changed after December 2009, when my WC benefits ended.

I have been battling to get my kids' benefits increased to what they should be for a year and a half now, but SSDI can't seem to get the records updated.

I recently got a letter from SSDI saying they are trying to update my records Yay ! Or so I thought, til I read on........ Because my oldest turned 17 this month, they wanted to make sure he hadn't gotten MARRIED. because then he wouldn't be entitled to benefits.

Sigh.......No, he's not married. He's a 17 yo kid hoping to go to a school that costs $56,000 when he's 18, Having another $384 a month in his college fund would certainly help !

Gee, this looks like a great place to sit and have a picnic with my yummy bone !
finz is offline   Reply With QuoteReply With Quote

advertisement
Old 07-19-2011, 07:11 PM #2

10 yr Member

10 yr Member

Oh my gosh...that is crazy.
I can imagine how frusterated you must be.
I hope everything gets straightened out very quickly!
Cblue is offline   Reply With QuoteReply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 08:51 PM #3

15 yr Member

15 yr Member

Well, haven't had any written communication from SSDI about it, but just checked my bank balance (links show from my kids' SSDI accounts) and their underpaid past due amounts are there ! Let's hope the correct direct deposits start this month....

Gee, this looks like a great place to sit and have a picnic with my yummy bone !
Old 08-16-2011, 09:36 AM #4

10 yr Member

10 yr Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by finz View Post