advertisement

Old 09-30-2011, 11:56 PM #1

10 yr Member

10 yr Member
Default Off disability and back to work

In January this year my Dr, suggested that I might try working from home, I was having severe pain and was considering disability because I simply could not handle an 8-5 day most of the time. I am a Programmer/annalist and do not need to be in an office to do the type of work I do. My boss was very understanding and has allowed me to work from home when needed. I asked if I could start working from home full time, again she was very supportive and kicked the Idea upstairs.

In March the VP in charge of my department came out with a blanket "no one shall at any time do any work at home".

The next few months were hell, driving into work after a sleepless night and almost falling asleep. Getting stuck at the office due to an emergency(I could have handled at home) while having a flair up.

Then in early May the HR department finally did what they should have done in January and had me sign an ADA release form from my DR. When i discussed the problems I was having at work my Dr. Suggested temporary disability starting June 1.

Other then calls I made in to inquire about my status, I heard nothing from my office. Nada zip from them. When I called them, the only answer I got was that they were waiting for more clarification from my DR. When I ask my Dr about it she showed me what she had sent and the inane requests for clarification of the clarification she had sent.

By the first of August I decided to file a complaint with the state, After filling out all the paper work etc. I called to set up an appointment. The next one being Sept 20. I made the appointment. Still I waited with no word from my employer, my Dr getting frustrated at having to extend the disability insurance and answering question after question from my employer.