Traumatic Brain Injury and Post Concussion Syndrome For traumatic brain injury (TBI) and post concussion syndrome (PCS).

advertisement

Old 04-06-2012, 08:42 PM #1

10 yr Member

10 yr Member
Confused Psychological Stuff

Hi everyone. So i'm new to all this psychological stuff...and today I was doing a little bit of reading to find ways to help myself overcome my problems...The ones that are psychological, anyways.

First of all, I'm having trouble deciphering what is caused by actual PCS symptoms and what is being caused by psychological things. Now, I know for a fact that my cognitive symptoms aren't ALL psychological. I've proved that to myself time and time again. But, what I have found out is that when my brain "shuts down" after a long day, stressful event or physical activity...I lay down to rest...and I can't really tell when it goes away? I think I trick myself into thinking that it's still there...even after a full days of rest. So, I stay in bed and rest some more...until I drive myself crazy!!!

But, there are times where I truly believe it's not psychological...Like today...Let me give an example, so you guys have a better understanding of what I mean...

Yesterday was a busy and stressful day. Not only did I spend an hour talking with the director of NCEP (space cadet city afterwards), I got stopped by a cop for jaywalking on a tiny street by my apartment...that has NO crosswalk ANYWHERE!!! That sent my body and mind into fight or flight mode. Afterwards, I couldn't think and I could barely move the rest of the evening...I couldn't sleep at all last night and ended up getting about 6-7 broken hours of sleep.