Spinal Disorders & Back Pain For discussion of all spinal cord injuries, spinal issues, back-related pain or problems.

advertisement

Old 05-02-2013, 11:56 AM #1

15 yr Member

15 yr Member
Default Grade II Anterolistheis

I'm new to this particular forum but not NeuroTalk - have been on the Peripheral Neuropathy forum for some years now.

I have been dealing with lumbar pain for 15+ years, some of which is probably due to my lifelong struggles with my weight. In 2004/2005 two MRI's confirmed that I had a grade I anterolisthesis at L5-S1 with moderate right neural foraminal narrowing. Several subsequent courses of PT together with hot, moist heat and cold compresses helped me deal with the lumbar pain and occasional sciatica that I was experiencing and I have been relatively comfortable for the last 8 - 9 years. I have occasional bouts of lumbar pain or fleeting sciatica but nothing that has required meds.

About 4-5 weeks ago I noticed a fleeting "twinge" in my right buttock which usually indicated that sciatica would follow soon thereafter. This time however, the pain was much more intense, a burning sensation in my upper right thigh together with a cramp or vise-like sensation down my right calf and across my right foot. The pain was worst when I first got up in the AM or during the night, particularly as soon as I sat up on the side of the bed or sat down in the bathroom. It took several hours before I could move around with any degree of comfort.

Sitting was not comfortable unless I sat “ramrod straight”, but walking wasn’t really a problem with no noticeable discomfort going up or down stairs. Bending forward relieved the lumbar pain and reduced the sciatica. Arching my back didn’t seem to affect either pain. The pain was more tolerable when I was lying down and I could sleep for a few hours by keeping my right leg as straight as possible.