Thoracic Outlet Syndrome Thoracic Outlet Syndrome/Brachial Plexopathy. In Memory Of DeAnne Marie.

advertisement

Old 06-11-2007, 01:45 PM #1
In Remembrance

15 yr Member
In Remembrance

15 yr Member
Default My stream of conciousness...

People have noted that I've been on the board lately - probably because I had a string of good days. I'm sure the TOS high, high pain (otherwise known as the suicide pain to me) will be back and I'll go back to my bed, praying for relief...

But I was thinking back to my days at the work comp field...(I also had ten years in non-work comp, which was very different.)

Anyways, I had two cases where the applicants actually had ovarian cancer and not a work back strain. During depositions, even though I'm not a doctor, they had never been to an ob/gyn (they both were from out-of-US) and they both had severe, chronic bleeding, which all indicated a need to see an ob/gyn. Thus came up the ovarian cancer.

Another case was where a very young wife / mother claimed headaches and backaches, but during depo it came out that she knew she had a terminal brain tumor and her husband had forced to her to take a "hamburger" job and file a claim.

In all three of these claims, although my client was not responsible for a non-work (brand new worker in these cases also) claim, to avoid a legal battle to prove it, (because there can be a legal issue that a stressful job can accelerate a cancer, etc., too much to go into here), I got the client to give these people a very large settlement claim out of a human interest value. In each, the contact people I had at the corporations were all very sad about these cases, and two of these I dealt direct with the "hamburger" co., and one was an insurance co.!