Thoracic Outlet Syndrome Thoracic Outlet Syndrome/Brachial Plexopathy. In Memory Of DeAnne Marie.

advertisement

Old 06-27-2007, 01:44 PM #1

15 yr Member

15 yr Member
Default how about work

Hi there i am newbie and what i would like to know is what type of work is out there for people with TOS. I am a sailor well i was two years ago i have been off work since july 2005 and have been told i well never sail agin. I have been told that even after surgery i well have to be on some type of pain meds for the rest of my life because it has been so long of a wait and it has gotten so bad that my thoracic surgeon is only hoping to take some pain away. Big difference from when i first saw him and i had a 80 to 85% of being pain free. Any ways i am getting off track i am now being sent to a return to work thing and they wont me to tell them what i wont to do for a living now. I fined this funny because we don't know what is going to happen after surergery. I wont to be real about what kind of job i can do so i thought i would ask the people who live with TOS and the pain what type of work that you's do for a living and how you handle the pain and your job.
mucker is offline   Reply With QuoteReply With Quote

advertisement
Old 06-27-2007, 02:28 PM #2
Co-Administrator
Community Support Team

15 yr Member
Co-Administrator
Community Support Team

15 yr Member

possible jobs-

Something where you can self pace your work so as to take stretch breaks
Something with a variety of tasks that you can self monitor your actions

most likely you will have some sort of restrictions after the surgery- possibly-
no overhead work -maybe even reaching / holding things out in front
no lifting of a certain weight/weight limits
no repetitive

But does the Dr say you are able to work at all??
There should be some modifications or restrictions at the very least.