Thoracic Outlet Syndrome Thoracic Outlet Syndrome/Brachial Plexopathy. In Memory Of DeAnne Marie.

advertisement

Old 12-12-2006, 09:28 PM #1

15 yr Member

15 yr Member
Default Doc question....

Ok Y'all - i went to see my neurosurgeon today - he told me all of the tests were normal. From what i've read tho, tests aren't always going to be abnormal. one thing he did was the Adson's Test - I turn my head to the right, my left hand is normal. Turn my head the other way- owwww - and the pulse decreases (i think). I believe he mentioned to the vascular/thoracic doctor about possible vasular TOS. is that treated anydifferently? i'm still learning. I'll leave ya'll with a quote that i really like - maybe they'll put it on my gravestone in a LONG time.
"Life should not be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways – beer in one hand, whiskey in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and screaming “HELL YEAH, WHAT A RIDE!!!”

Currently redefining 8,9,10 ......

dabbo is offline   Reply With QuoteReply With Quote

advertisement
Old 12-13-2006, 04:33 PM #2

15 yr Member

15 yr Member

My orthorpedic described my adsons test this way- no head turning was neccessary to get these results.

right side: 12/10 on a scale of 1-10 (pulse disappears instantaneously)
left side: 8/10 on same scale. (pulse disappears quickly)

Later the neurologist confirmed that description in his office, and when he did ultrasound investigations of the area my neurologist found that my circulation was completely cut off by the time my arm was level with my shoulder. He said normally the arms should have to be straight up in the air to see that.