View Single Post
Old 08-02-2013, 05:23 PM
Grand Magnate

15 yr Member
Grand Magnate

15 yr Member

Hi Ori!

You are so funny
First let me clarify that I am not a doctor or a dentist. I am however in the dental field for 35 years. So yes, I have lots of knowledge that I will honestly and openly offer you... but I'm not a doctor

Okay so you are correlating your infected tooth #3 with your colds and other physical maladies. You are wise to consider that as possible and you may be right!

Here are your questions... I will answer them in bold type.

<<<For having my tooth extracted and the periodontal ligament scraped out. What questions should I ask the potential surgeon>>>>

YOU WANT TO TELL THE SURGEON YOU HAVE BECOME INFORMED ABOUT TOOTH EXTRACTIONS AND YOU HAVE SOME SPECIFIC REQUESTS. YOU WANT TO HAVE THE TOOTH REMOVED AS GENTLY AS POSSIBLE TO AVOID TRAUMA TO THE BONE AND SINUS IF POSSIBLE, AND YOU WANT THE PERIODONTAL LIGAMENT AND ALL NECROTIC TISSUE AND BONE REMOVED. ASK HIM IF HE DOES THIS ROUTINELY AND/OR WILL OBLIGE YOUR REQUESTS. THE REASONS FOR THE ABOVE REQUESTS ARE SIMPLY.....

YOU WANT THE TOOTH REMOVED GENTLY TO AVOID FRACTURE OF THE BONY RIDGE OR UNNECESSARY TRAUMA TO THE ADJACENT TEETH. IF THE INFECTION IS DEEP AND/OR SEVERE, THE RIDGE MAY BE COMPROMISED AND YOU WANT HIM TO REMOVE WHAT IS COMPROMISED, DON'T LEAVE IT THERE. THE LIGAMENT, NECROTIC TISSUE (CYSTS) AND BONE NEEDS TO BE REMOVED BECAUSE THEY ARE ALL INFECTED AND IF LEFT IN THERE IT WILL PREVENT THE BONE FROM HEALING PROPERLY. MAKE SURE YOU LET HIM KNOW THAT YOU WANT TO BE INFORMED OF ALL OF HIS FINDINGS AFTER THE EXTRACTION INCLUDING ANY ISSUES WITH THE SINUS.

<<<and what answers do I want to hear or do not want to hear? >>>>