View Single Post
Old 08-29-2013, 08:42 PM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member

I am blessed that I work in the family business and my father is also my employer. I have an amazing support system in place. My sister is a Speech Pathologist. I have not seen an occupational therapist but I think that is on the list of questions for my doc.

Today I was trying to collate some papers. One set was 2-sided, and I needed all of the pages on the same side. So instead of having 10 pages of paper I needed 20. It took me the entire day to sort the damn things and my Dad was not getting why I was making an easy task so difficult. The problem was, each time I turned over a piece of paper, it was staring back at me as if I had just started. The back of the second sheet was the same as the front of the first! I could NOT figure out why each time I flipped the paper, it appeared as if I had done nothing at all. It completely stressed me out and I was exhausted. That is the hard part for me. the seemingly simple things are soooooo difficult, yet I can have moments of complete clarity and discuss portfolio diversification and market theory.... so weird!

One of the things I have picked up on is to write a goal sheet for the day on a note card. I will put things like "go out for coffee" or "call xxxxx back" "stay calm" "cook a real dinner" and try to see how many things I can accomplish. On the back of the card, I write how my day went, and which tasks were too daunting or which were easy. I've found that I can then trace back a few days and see if I have something that I just can't overcome so then I can ask for help.