View Single Post
Old 09-12-2013, 05:26 PM
anon6715

anon6715

Hi Liz

I'm sorry I didn't see your post before now. I am pretty new to CRPS too. Mine developed following wrist surgery in December 2012. I was very luck to have a knowledgeable surgeon. I saw him to have my cast removed six weeks after the surgery and he knew as soon as he saw my hand. I started physiotherapy almost immediately.

To start off with, they physio was nothing more than the therapist gently massaging and 'stretching' my fingers and wrist (though calling it stretching is, well, a bit of a stretch). I have had physiotherapy once a week since then. I have much more mobility now than I did then but I am certainly not at normal mobility levels. The pain is always there but it does fluctuate.

I also found that it spread to my entire arm pretty quickly. I try very hard to stay positive and keep going. I have to say, I haven't really dealt with the idea of having CRPS for the rest of my life. I suppose so far I'm coping with it by not looking too far into the future. I'm not sure that is the best way at all but it is the best I can do for now.

I will say that finding this board has been a great help to me. The people here are fantastic and are always willing to share their knowledge and experience. It seems a bit wrong (and a bit late) to say welcome...but, Welcome!

Kim

Quote:
Originally Posted by liz0323 View Post