View Single Post
Old 09-15-2013, 01:55 AM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hudsmom View Post
Hi rake, my son has TS, pure OCD, and anxiety. He is currently taking clonidine but I called the neuro Friday and want him off of that mess. I'm sorry your going through a hard time.
Hi Hudsmom,

Thank you for your compassion. Most people have NO IDEA how TS can affect a person's life or ruin it if not treated with love, lots of therapy and even meds if it is severe enough.

I understand your concerns about the med clonidine or any med that is said to help with TS. I was taking it a few months ago (my third time to try it) but had to stop due to it making my blood pressure go to low.

The clonidine helps most people control their tics (LIKE ME) but some have problems with it long term (LIKE ME).

I have lived with severe Gilles TS for over 40 years. I'm no doctor by any means but I have been there and done that so to speak when it comes to treating TS.

There are not many meds that I have not been on to date.

Anytime you have a question and would like to hear opinions from someone that has taken a drug or tried certain type therapies just let me know and I will help in any way I can.

To a child TS can be especially cruel. A child has to deal with other children and as we all know children can be very cruel by nature to other children especially if a child stands out from the crowd such as your son does with TS. Even if his TS is mild children pick up on it like a red flag in a cotton field.

My childhood was the worst time in my life. Certain things that happened during that time that caused me mental issues for many, many years and because of it I still have problems dealing with them even now.

I'm so very sorry to hear he has TS. I hope it is a mild case and that he is one of the (lucky) many that (as they call it) "out grows it" by his late teens to early 20's. Most do and I hope he is one of them.

If you do not mind me asking: