View Single Post
Old 09-18-2013, 03:56 PM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member
Default Sorry I am tardy

Quote:
Originally Posted by lfw57 View Post
Hi all -

I am a 49 year old woman recently diagnosed with MP. I work in the computer industry so I sit for many hours a day and am not very active, with the exception of walking several times a week.

In an attempt to get back in shape I started doing some "gentle" yoga and I over stretched my hip flexor. A few weeks after that I had shooting, burning pain down my left outer leg and since then (about two months now) severe pain in my lower left back.

After two ER visits, two inconclusive MRIs and countless doctor visits, I was finally diagnosed with MP by my chiropractor. I believe mine was caused by an inflammation/aggravation of the tendon(s) in the pelvic area due to over stretching, combined with some muscle tightness in my hip and butt due to sitting for too long,, poor posture, etc.

I did recover almost 100% in about 3 weeks mainly due to a technique called Active Release Technique (ART) which is a soft tissue treatment performed by my chiropractor. Unfortunately, I had a relapse two weeks ago because I went back to work too soon and sat for too long. The second time my symptoms were the same but seemed to shift slightly to also include tenderness in my outer-lower back.

I think for me I have nerve entrapments going on in a few places: my pelvic area and outer lower back which seems to be consistent with the path of the femoral nerve. I'm hopeful that if I continue with the chiropractor and make the necessary lifestyle changes I can free myself of this condition. It has been a frightening time (as I'm sure you all can relate to).