View Single Post
Old 10-03-2013, 03:51 PM
Newly Joined

10 yr Member
Newly Joined

10 yr Member
Default My PStim Experience

Hi. New Here. My wife found this as did I when doing research before getting the PStim myself. I'll try my best to post after each treatment. Note that I just finished my first 4 days. Also note I'll post some scientific articles I found on the topic while researching at the bottom of this note.

Background - I was in a car accident ~4 years ago and now get upper back/neck pain and headaches that arise from the pain on my Occipital Ridge. The headaches were terrible, multiple injections and many months of PT didn't help. Regular Chinese Accupuncture didn't help. Medical Accupuncture did. However it's expensive and I need to go every two weeks. So I figured I'd try PStim (which is also expensive...so if anyone here can tell me how to get this covered by Insurance (Anthem) you would be my hero).

Note - I am not a doctor...

OK, so today is day 4. Results are certainly TBD. However I will note that I was able to do a good number of pushups the evening of day 2 and I just took a long run/walk with my dog and have had surprisingly low pain...something just a couple ibuprofen can help. We'll see how the rest of the night goes but it's a positive sign.

I will admit that the PStim was annoying. I had two electrodes on the inner part of the lobe and 1 on the outer. I feel like the one on the outer bothered me MUCH more than the one on the inner. I liken it to getting flicked in the ear by an annoying little brother. Getting the device put on was easily the more painful part but it was certainly tolerable. It was not quite like getting your ear pierced...but that's the closest thing I can think of to equate it to.