View Single Post
Old 05-23-2007, 11:02 AM
Magnate

15 yr Member
Magnate

15 yr Member

Mel

It doesn't matter who poked the hole in, regardless of how the hole got there, it was a potential source of infection. You can't tape a hole in an IV bag...or a hole in an IV tube. You can tape connections of tubes to keep them secure, provided they are working to being with...you can not tape a 'leak' to stop it anywhere in the system....Forbotten!!!! NIX, NIE, in any language.

IVIG is given at x number of milligrams per minutes. If his time is 4 hours it is four hours....you may not know this but some agencies pay nurses by the visit...the shorter the visit the more pay they make, as they make more visits...they make exceptions for IV visits as they take longer.

IVIG is generally mixed by the pharmacy and delivered to the place of infusion. I had mine at an infusion center, which they insisted on me going to, despite being a home care nurse myself. Why? Because, one bag of IVIG contains antibodies from over 1,000 donors, and you never know when one of those donors may have some offending antibody which causes a reaction. usually people have a reaction right away, but not always.

Now the thing to do is watch for signs of infection, which are not the same as signs of infusion reaction.

This is not a minor error on the nurses part....what does she think she can do brain surgery too???

Alan likely has an immune system that can handle any germ he got, but you need to call attention to what occurred to you.

Call and speak with the nursing supervisor or director of nursing...not the secretary or scheduler.

Call your doc and let him know what happened.

You are likely going to be unable to prove how the hole got there and that is irrelevant...simply the fact that there was a puncture in the bag is enough to assume it is contaminated.

Transferring contaminated contents via sterile procedure is a joke.