View Single Post
Old 12-21-2013, 02:13 AM
Legendary

15 yr Member
Legendary

15 yr Member

teaaquinn,

Your comments are out of line. I have never said your improvements are not related to your HBOT treatments. As I said, I have been following HBOT for quite some time. HBOT can easily drain a person's finances when they have other financial struggles. I spent $18,000 on diagnostics and treatments but HBOT was not offered nor recommended. There is a HBOT clinic where I meet with my Brain Injury Support Group. I had great hope for HBOT. I know that my brain struggles at altitude so had hoped the opposite was true.

I studied how the cells use oxygen at different altitudes in college as part of an aviation course.

I have a research file on Concussion and mild traumatic brain injury and various treatments that fills a file cabinet. The LSU study showed improvements but did not show great improvements. The SPECT imaging is not the same as cognitive improvements.

I did not retract the comment about HBOT being detrimental to some subjects. The researchers were confounded as to why the detrimental effect was noted. They could not identify a cause. I should have said that some of the subjects showed an increase in symptoms. The coincidental occurrence of worsening of symptoms is no more important than the anecdotal evidence of miraculous improvements.

btw, I am doing fine. I have rehabbed from concussions many times over almost 50 years. My concussions since my 40's have caused me to have less recovery. This is basic physiology of aging brains. My goal is to prevent further deterioration due to age and / or trauma.

You sound like a HBOT clinic owner. Why are you so adamant that everybody should try HBOT ?