View Single Post
Old 05-23-2007, 04:36 PM

15 yr Member

15 yr Member
Help Lost in Pain

Jeeze, I thought I was the only one. I have had MP for 14 years, first few years I was told I was crazy (nicely buy that it was a psychological problem). They tried depocote ,(sp?)didn’t help tried another doctor was told basically the same thing. I let it go for years (mostly due to no insurance). Years later another doctor said it was neuropathy and I took Gabapentin for a year with no real relief. Again, I went years suffering through. The only things that have kept me going is things like Vicodan that were actually prescribed for Migraine headaches or other ailments, ( also been accused of trying to get pain meds for recreational use….God if they knew the pain.) I would stock up for use when my legs were on fire with the feeling of white-hot sharp objects stabbing my thighs.

I have been using a cane for about 10 years. It helps me not have AS MUCH pain later in the day when the pain at its worst but it is still not a fix.

Recently (February 14th) after a stroke (TIA) I was chatting with the neurosurgeon while still in the hospital, asked if I could ask some other questions and he did some “pin” tests diagnosed the MP in 2 mins, and said he new how painful it was and had the hospital give me some vicodan for relief. To come see him when I got out and we would discuss a very simple operation to clip the nerves, well I was fired from my job ( they said because of “poor performance” but it was because of the stroke and limited duties for a month). Bye bye Insurance!

That was 5 months ago the pain in my legs has gotten so bad that I have trouble functioning, getting out of bed is a problem sometimes. I cannot work. If I do not do, too much walking around I can actually sleep through the night.