View Single Post
Old 01-25-2014, 04:52 PM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member
Default Teaching

Hi Celeste,

Quote:
Originally Posted by southblues View Post
I teach in a college. I have been able to keep working, but I do have some issues.

The biggest one is that my voice gives out. I have learned to pace myself at work.
It's amazing how timely your comment is. I have been thinking about this exact issue for the last few weeks. I started college later in life that usual, going first to a West Valley College, then to San Jose State University, and ending up in graduate school at the University of California, Davis in a Masters program. This was a 12-year odyssey. I went part-time in the beginning, as I was paying the freight by driving a taxicab. In 1993 I graduated from UC Davis with a Masters in US History, Post-Reconstruction with a concentration in Cold War studies, at the age of 39. My dream was to tech history at the community college level.

I was fortunate and got part-time positions at West Valley College, Mission College, and San Jose State University teaching survey courses in US History. In total I was teaching more that a full load between the three schools. You could not teach a full load at any one specific school because they would have been required to higher you full time and even pay benefits. They called us part time instructors "Freeway Flyers." Once I had only 30 minutes between classes, one at West Valley College and the other at Mission College, a 20-minute drive. Fortunately it was the same course, so having just given the same lecture, I did not need any prep-time before class. That was my opinion; I believe some of my students may have thought otherwise.