View Single Post
Old 04-04-2014, 08:42 AM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member
Default New to the boards

Hello, I've been lurking for a few months now, but this is my first time posting. My name is Sara, and this is my first experience with a concussion/post concussion syndrome.

Almost three months ago at this point, I fainted and fell to concrete floor from a standing position, and unfortunately, my head cushioned most of the impact. I went to the MedExpress, and the doctor checked me over and said I was fine, just to watch for any changes, typical concussion follow up.

For the first week and a half afterwards, I had no issues at all besides a bruise where my forehead contacted with concrete. Almost at exactly the ten day mark, I began experiencing migrating headaches, light and noise sensitivity, and just a general feeling of being unwell.

In an abbreviated story of what happened, I had to leave school, as I was unable to continue because of what I at the time thought were episodes of near fainting, but have now realized are panic attacks.

I went to see a neurologist, had an MRI at about the one month out period, and all came back normal. I could tell he was not very well versed in PCS, but suggested that it will get better with time.

At nearly the three month mark, light/noise sensitivity are gone, I get headaches maybe once or twice a week, but they aren't debilitating, and I am now able to read again without provoking headaches. I sometimes get a weird motion sickness feeling almost, but mostly in my head, and it abates mostly if I drink copious amounts of water when I'm experiencing it.