Thread: Methadone
View Single Post
Old 04-08-2014, 12:04 AM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member
Default Methadone

I'm scheduled to see my NS this coming Monday14th, woohoo, I'm so excited that they fit me in and I may finally be able to get some answers to my troubling questions regarding whether or not I need another fusion for the lumbar region and/or will a Boston paddle be implanted to enable pain treatment for the lumbar, thoracic, cervical and the left arm/hand burning tingling pain that the existing SCS one lead does not cover.

However, I have a question, if, the lumbar fusion doesn't happen and the Boston paddle doesn't happen should I start a dialogue with my doctors regarding methadone? This was raised with me back in 2008 by my then GP who was retiring that year and who openly admitted he just didn't know what to do next in order to treat me. At that time, instead of my left arm the burning tingling was in my right arm/hand, the pain was so bad I was trying to lay my forearm and palm on flat cool surfaces at every opportunity and shaking of the hand to try and relieve the pain, I have always thought the arm pain stems from the cervical injury incurred in the car accident 2004. Anyhow, he suggested methadone and I recall was absolutely horrified, in my then ignorance, I thought methadone was a treatment for "drug addicts" and I thought OMG he doesn't believe I'm in pain, he thinks I'm an opioid drug seeking patient.....