Thread: dogs
View Single Post
Old 04-17-2014, 01:56 PM

15 yr Member

15 yr Member

I have written quite a bit about service dogs on this forum, so I will just give links to those threads. However... After being around the service dog "world" now for over 5 years, I no longer recommend anyone train their own dog unless they have had EXTENSIVE background in training obedience dogs, including at least to CDX level, preferably UD. Even then, I have read over and over and over again of people thinking they can train their own dog, and in reality, the dogs will not get the correct training for public work. I have had over 40 years training experience and taught classes, showed competitively etc... And still, training my own dog was quite a challenge, and expensive.

If your dog is not properly trained for public work, it is a liability. To your health, and to other people. People, and their children do very dumb things around dogs, especially service dogs and the risk of injury is not to be ignored... Especially in a society where everyone sues for every thing. I had one toddler come flying out of no where, grab my dog and tumble her to the floor, landing heavily on top of her. I do not have children, she is not around children very often. If you do not constantly keep up your training for these type situations, and the dog were to do anything that would injure a child... It could be very expensive. I heard of one instance where a young child tried to jump over a service dogs leash, fell, hit his head on a store shelf. Kid cut his head, required a couple stitches. Parent sued service dog owner and the store. Cost the service dog owner several thousand dollars because they did not have proper insurance. I carry a very high $$$ insurance policy for liability on my dog.