View Single Post
Old 05-03-2014, 10:51 AM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member

Hi Everyone,

I just read this post, and I know exactly how you all are feeling. I have improved with my Neuro rehab, and I am so grateful to have been able to participate in a wonderful program. I am a medical professional who had 18 years of practice before the injury. The Neuro rehab team thinks I can eventually return to work (initially thought my former profession), but now that they have done other tests with processing speeds, visual-spatial activities, multi-tasking, and visual motor skills they do not think this is possible at my current status.

I also told them I do not feel capable of direct patient care anymore, and I feel I would be putting them at risk, which they all agreed was true. It is hard to accept giving up a career I really enjoyed, but I know the potential danger in returning if I am no longer capable of helping people.

I also have not returned to my musical outlet because I am not capable of playing guitar or singing for more than 2-3 songs, and I played and sang in 2 bands where we would play up to an hour to 1 1/2 hours ( about 12 songs) with little to no break.
I can't even consistently sing along to songs in the radio as I once loved to, but at least I can sing and play for even a short time.

It is hard to accept the visible and "invisible" changes brought on by a brain injury. I find it especially hard to continue to "press on" when it seems like I have reached a plateau in some areas. This injury is much harder to recover from than others, because there is no set time limit or expectation of recovery period. And I find it particularly frustrating when I seem capable of doing a task one day, then incapable of doing the same thing on another day, like taking down important messages for appointment dates and times. I messed this up so much, I begin not to trust myself.