View Single Post
Old 05-21-2014, 05:11 AM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member
Default Convergence insufficiency- finally getting prism lenses

Ever since I was around 11 years old, first year of secondary school, I've had problems with reading, writing, copying from the blackboard, poor reading comprehension, sports and balance/ co-ordination. Because I did so well in primary school where I was a straight A student, the teachers conclusion was I 'wasn't trying/ not concentrating/ being lazy'. I had no idea what was going on and why I wasn't able to do the things I used to be good at. My grades dropped dramatically and I failed everything and left with very poor qualifications. I went on to having big problems with employment and constantly being pulled up for 'not concentrating' and making mistakes. One of my bosses asked a workmate if she thought I was 'slow' which hurt like hell as I have been very aware of my problems.

I have permanent double vision/ blurred vision, headaches, pulling feelings in my eyes, dry eyes, feel nauseous when I read too much, can't remember what I've just read.

I also had very bad handwriting, but my handwriting was fine in primary school. The letters were all different sizes, I couldn't stay on the line and it was like my hand and brain weren't co-ordinating. I'd be sent home constantly to practice my handwriting as it was illegible.

Now, I'm 31 and yesterday I was diagnosed with 'convergence insufficiency'. The optician said as I've been this way for 20 years it's unlikely I will get depth perception, and I've got extropia because my vision problem wasn't treated early on. He told me not to get my hopes up as it may only help a little bit, but I'm still extremely excited to get my glasses!