View Single Post
Old 09-15-2014, 10:34 AM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by JK123 View Post
Hi Catra,
I'm so glad your pregnancy is going well. I am also impressed that you are going through a pregnancy with CRPS.
I have been doing IVF for 4 years and only recently developed my multi location body pain in the last several months (not sure if it is CRPS).
May I ask: are you on any medications while pregnant? If not, how do you cope?
Sorry that I didn't see your post until just now...I was out of town in Disney World with my mom and aunt for the week.

I am not on any medications while pregnant...but I wasn't really on any prior to the pregnancy either. I had a very early miscarriage last year...and that's when I stopped using clonidine patches...and then when I found out I was pregnant this time I stopped using Lidoderm patches and cream. Other than those though I was off all other medications for over a year...more like two years I think. I have found that medications (and I tried a LOT of different ones) didn't help my pain enough to be worth all the side effects I was experiencing so I decided to stop them all. I've found lots of alternative ways to control symptoms, manage the pain, etc...none of which help a LOT...but they all add up to keeping me at a pain level where I can function. The Lidoderm patches and creams were only used as needed for either severe flare ups or if I was planning on doing something that I thought COULD trigger a flare up and were used as a preventative (sort of) to keep the pain from escalating too high.

When I have a bad pain flare up I have the following protocol that I use (ASAP...because the longer the flare up is going on the harder it is to get under control):

1. Hot/Warm bath with Epsom salts

2. Ultrasound heat therapy treatments on the areas where the pain is worst (bought unit on amazon.com)