View Single Post
Old 09-23-2014, 10:03 PM
Newly Joined

8 yr Member
Newly Joined

8 yr Member
Default Confused and stressed

I guess I am feeling overwhelmed and a more than a bit useless. Where to start .. First of all I am a Veteran and I am dependent on the VA for health care, the experience has not been good.

I was in the Army, won a scholarship as a computer programmer, got hired midway through the course and worked for a couple of months before getting bored and becoming a fireman at the Airport. A year later I was pulling duty in the watchtower watching the planes come and go and I thought to myself what am I doing here, I could be on one of those going somewhere.

A week later I was on a plane to Germany where I sold cars on a US base, a year later I was in the USA, I wasn't yet 22. A year after that I joined the US Army to become a helicopter pilot but at the same time a spy scandal concerning a Father and Son sold some naval secrets and as a result non US citizens (I became a citizen 4 years later) had their security clearances pulled.

I elected to stay and went to Mechanic school and later became a crew chief and after that an Inspector. One day I hurt my back moving a helicopter in the hangar and had back problems from that day on. They never could find anything wrong and ultimately after almost 7 years I could no longer meet the physical demands of military life and had to leave.

I'm telling you this so you know what my lifestyle was nothing more, I was all about action and adventure, living on the edge, so to find myself virtually crippled from neuropathy has turned my world upside down. Fast forward a decade or so. I earned a living as a Personal Trainer eventually moved into marketing and consulted to many small businesses.