View Single Post
Old 11-30-2014, 05:21 PM

8 yr Member

8 yr Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by YoungSFN View Post
Hey everyone. I'm a young guy, 28, with symptoms of SFN for about 2 months now. The pain, numbness, tingling came on somewhat suddenly over the course of several days and was obviously extremely alarming for someone like myself who has been pretty much healthy his entire life. I'm also currently a 4th year medical student and recognized the symptoms so I started doing a lot of research on my own into peripheral neuropathy. I was out of town at the time but got into my PCP immediately when I got back. That's where I stumbled across this forum. I started taking B vitamins and with the worry that might be a cause.

Fast forward since then, I've had the usual workup for SFN minus the heavy metals (no exposure risk so they thought I didn't need it) without any abnormal findings. Since I'm a medical student, I went to see a neurologist through the university who specializes in peripheral neuropathy who performed CMV testing which was also normal. I feel like the way he's talking to me, he thinks I'm a hypochondriac medical student. I'm following up with another neurologist to get second opinion and try to push for a skin biopsy. I've been taking the following supplements since the symptoms started: Alpha-Lipoic acid, Benfotiamine, B Vitamin Complex, Fish Oil, L-Carnitine.

Current symptoms: Burning in feet (worse at night), toes pretty constantly feel cold, sharp pain in the balls of my feet (right worse than left moving up towards toes), aching pain that is worse in the lateral part of my feet, itching in my feet. I've also noticed some numbness/tingling in my left middle fingertip.