View Single Post
Old 12-04-2014, 11:16 PM

8 yr Member

8 yr Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sea Pines 50 View Post

Happy you've found us, but sorry for the reasons why (if that makes any sense). I'm going to try to answer some of your questions, if I can. Keep in mind, I'm no doctor… and any so-called 'advice' you may glean from my post may be worth exactly what you've paid for it!

Your symptoms (sx) do sound to me like they could be coming from TOS. The fact that you describe them as "mild," to me, points more to them being more vascular (either arterial or venous) in nature (i.e., VTOS) than neurogenic (NTOS), than to being something that "could just go away on its own…," unfortunately. (I'm just talking about pain levels here, because of course, VTOS is every bit as serious a malady as is NTOS.)

I do think physical therapy (PT) sounds like a good idea. But you must be careful! It can be difficult to find a physical therapist who honestly knows how to treat (tx) TOS. Traditional, 'no pain, no gain' physical therapy not only does not work with TOSers, it can make you way worse! For example, no strengthening exercises should be introduced until certain upper body postural and respiratory dysfunction, muscle imbalances, etc. are addressed, and if something causes your pain levels to go up or other sx to flare, you should not do it, period. Try using the 'Search This Forum' function to pull up prior threads and posts on TOS modalities (like Botox injections into the scalene and pec minor muscles), the best type of PT, bodyworkers, chiropractic, etc.