View Single Post
Old 12-23-2014, 06:22 AM

8 yr Member

8 yr Member

Mark,

I'll start with the Ritalin - as I said, before starting the Ritalin I was a very bad student, and honestly I think that without the Ritalin I would have dropped from high school because of my bad grades. My severe inattention problems caused my grades to be low, and they just got lower every new year when things got more demanding. My ADHD does not allow me to perform normally in life, and that could seriously harm me in the future when I will look for a job and raise a family (it's not just school - ADHD is a real disorder, unlike many think, that creates difficulties in many areas in life). So, even if I don't take the Ritalin, I would have to use another medicine to control my symptoms - and sadly, apart from stimulants, not many medications are effective for treating ADHD symptoms. I sadly often find that ADHD is being underestimated - again, it's a REAL disorder with real consequences on the people who have it.

Regarding the dopamine system - it's right that Ritalin is bad for dopamine regulation and can harm the dopamine system, but most of the time, it's temporary.

If we get into details, the active ingredient in Ritalin is Methylphenidate - a potent CNS stimulant that works by inhibiting the reuptake of dopamine into the releasing cell. That means that after dopamine is released, instead of returning to its releasing cell, it continues binding to its receptor repeatedly for a long time. The higher amounts of dopamine in the synaptic cleft are translated into an increased ability to concentrate, increased self control, decreased hunger and motivation (the ability to concentrate is the primary effect which is necessary for ADHD treatment).