Thread: My Story.
View Single Post
Old 02-10-2015, 03:04 PM

15 yr Member

15 yr Member

Well, mine has fewer twists and turns than yours Sally, but I seem to be incapable of telling it succinctly. So with that said, here it is for what it is worth:

In June 2004, at the age of 34, I had been working at a new job for about 3 months. After two years of helping two of my brother-in-laws ride in an MS150 bike ride (San Antonio to Corpus Christi, Texas), I had decided that I was going to ride as well. I signed up for a gym membership to start exercising again, with plans to start riding my bike again and training for the ride. The gym offered an "orientation session" to introduce you to the gym and help you set goals and plan to reach them.

On the day I was supposed to go to the gym for that orientation and start on my path to riding the MS150, I was sitting at my desk around 9:30 am and suddenly lost all the hearing in my left ear. Over the course of about 5 seconds, it was just gone. Imagine the feeling when you are going up or down in an aircraft, and your ears pop. That is what it felt like. I spent a few minutes trying to "unpop" my ears before realizing that wasn't it. I then took a quick trip across the street to a drug store to get some Qtips so I could clear out whatever was plugging my ear. That wasn't it either.

So I called my PCP. Surprisingly, they had room to see me that afternoon. So I went in to see him. He checked me over and when he tried to use a tuning fork to test my hearing a number of different ways, he was surprised to realize that I truly had no hearing at all in my left ear. It wasn't just lack of sound getting through, there was no nerve sensation coming from my inner ear. He left briefly, then came back and told me to go see an ENT...gave me their card and address...and said "don't bother calling them, just go. They are expecting you." That is when I knew something strange was going on.