Thread: My Story.
View Single Post
Old 02-11-2015, 02:07 AM
Elder

15 yr Member
Elder

15 yr Member

Thanks for the thread Sally. Several of us have been on this journey together for a long time. We just didn't know how we got on this train.

I'll start out like Starz did. I knew something was wrong when I was just a child but found out it was only that my Mom gave me baby brothers!!!!

OK, I promise to be nice. I was out shopping in 1997, age 47, and noticed that my right leg wouldn't cooperate as well as the left when getting in the car. We finished shopping and went home. I was tired so I sat in the recliner, pulled the foot rest up and rested. But I found I couldn't move my foot or leg at all. Now being a nurse I should have been alarmed at that. But I knew I had several bulging disks and since I was a nurse used to diagnosing myself, and not knowing orthopedic or neurology very well I just said it was the bulging disk.

The next day everything was the same so I knew that something was really wrong but I didn't have nice gowns and underwear to wear to the hospital. So I went out to buy it. So by then my left leg wouldn't cooperate very well. I could slowly walk but if I as laying or sitting down the legs or feet had nothing. So I went home with my new stuff that was befitting a preacher's kid to wear in the hospital and did I call the doctor???? No, not yet. I had to take a bath, wash my hair and shave my legs. I knew I couldn't shave my legs to easily if I had back surgery so better do it now. So I finally called the doctor and was told to immediately get to the hospital, and to have some one drive me. So I called up my parents, who didn't even know anything was happening, packed my new belongings and went to the hospital.