Thread: My Story.
View Single Post
Old 02-11-2015, 12:24 PM
Grand Magnate

15 yr Member
Grand Magnate

15 yr Member

thanks for this thread sally. it's a heartfelt way to get to know each other's stories. here's mine,

i graduated nursing school in '71 in miami. i did several types of critical care and finally settled in NICU (neonatal intensive care unit). i moved to denver, co and was working 12 hr shifts. i began to notice my gait changing and every few seconds felt an electrical kind of whooshing in my left leg. it drove me crazy and i never could explain it to my drs better than that. i was 53 y/o.

my pcp did an exam and sent me to a neuro. i had an mri. they found 6 brain lesions and 2 in my upper spine. i had 2 O-bands in my spinal fluid. i knew an MS dx was possible and was mentally preparing for it, or so i thought. when i was given the dx it was still a shock, it was 2003.

working was becoming very, very difficult. walking up and down the halls for 12 hrs was exhausting. and i was caring for sick babies of which many were under open warmers. i was very heat intolerant and it was debilitating. one day i went down to the cafeteria for lunch and to cool off. i could hardly walk. i sat at the table and started sobbing. i was scared.

i thought if i went part time i could prolong my work life (and so i also gave up my long term disability). i was wrong. when my cognition wasn't as sharp as i needed it to be to work i knew it was the end. i spent 18 yrs at that position and was an RN for a total of 35 yrs. i was devastated. when i cleared out my locker and left that hosp for the last time i really grieved for my loss.

let me speed ahead. i was on copaxone for a total of 11 yrs. then stopped. thank God my MS course has been fairly stable. i have never had an exacerbation. i have some cognition problems, i can walk with a cane and i can drive. thank goodness my strong leg is my Rt leg. my Lt leg is weak.