View Single Post
Old 06-14-2007, 05:08 PM
Magnate

15 yr Member
Magnate

15 yr Member

Hey Mrsd...we are not married to the same man are we???

We are going on 35 years, and in the last 7 years he has had to help me 'care' for myself when I had an arm in a cast for 6 weeks, broke my arm in 4 places cross country skiing-don't ask.
Then a full leg cast...don't have a clue how my tibia broke, but it was clear the doctor did not want me to move....(that lasted only a few days) but a few bodily functions were complex and not accomplished alone.
Let's not forget when I degloved my index finger kiteskiing...(that ended my extreme sports endeavors however I still do power kite on occassion, just not on frozen lakes with open water or on windy days on skis-I have learned my limits---to an extent).
Then there was the PICC line for 4 months, and I knew I could trust him when he told me to 'shut up and let him do the sterile dressing change!' (Now I am a nurse (not in the field right now-all good things come to an end, not that I don't have a lot of that knowledge still stored in my 'smaller' female brain.) Let's not forget how small the 'I-Pod' type device is and how well it still functions. Not all things are better bigger.

He supervises the people, who supervise criminals, out on probation and parole. Can you imagine THAT job?

With the PICC line, he got the last word, as it is not a one handed endeavor, and lo and behold, he did not need my unsolicited advice!! He did a whole lot better than that nurse that went to Mel's to give Alan IVIG!! Not a single break in aseptic technique,...I was awed, and I was relieved, and learned I can actually, at times, keep my mouth shut.)

Lest I demystify myself any further....I will say, Mrsd.....on the underwear issue, my mate wears them to shreds! It appears I will have to continue to buy them. Perhaps I should stock some up, just in case I am not around, my Lord what will he do?