View Single Post
Old 04-17-2015, 04:22 PM
Grand Magnate

15 yr Member
Grand Magnate

15 yr Member

Hi kompose,

I'm sorry for the delay in replying to you. I do try to keep up with everyone here in between my busy schedule with family, work and school.

I am sorry you are enduring such pain. But because you have not had dental care, including preventive care in over 20 years, there is a good chance that the radiating pain may be associated with other teeth. For a variety of reasons many people avoid seeing the dentist until something forces them to go. I'm not judging or questioning that, I'm saying that I understand because I have been working with dental patients for over 30 years.

I would suggest that you skip the cleaning for now as your mouth is still vulnerable from the extraction and you've got enough inflammation to deal with right now. However, I would also suggest that you schedule a comprehensive examination and full mouth series of x-rays to determine what else is going on as you may have some other issues that need to be addressed which could be causing or contributing to your pain.

If you have not had a professional cleaning in 20 years, you are most likely going to have a lot of hard calculus at and below your gum line which in of itself causes inflammation and pain. So having the full examination will help determine the type of cleaning that you need as well as what else is going on.

I'm sorry I cannot be of more help to you but due to your particular circumstances, you need to have a full evaluation to know what is going on as it may or may not have much to do with the extraction site.

I hope I have explained that clearly. Please keep in touch here and let us know how things go with the examination.

Bryanna

Quote:
Originally Posted by kompose29 View Post
Hello,

I'm answering my own thread to update since i haven't gotten an answer in the past few days.