Thread: Hello There!
View Single Post
Old 05-27-2015, 11:19 PM

8 yr Member

8 yr Member
Default Hello There!

Hi Everyone!

In the tips to newcomers I saw that it was a good Idea to introduce myself. In fact it said I would not be able to participate on this site until a mod saw that I wasn't a bot or a spammer. This seems to be the appropriate spot to make that initial intro, so here I am.

I'm not sure what's wrong with me, but it isn't for lack of trying. I want to start by apologizing for not using abbreviations, This is my first time using a forum or even talking to anyone but loved ones or doctors about my problem so I don't know any shorthand yet.

Before I burden anyone with my woes let me just say a little about myself. I am spiritual but I'm not really christian. I think I'm more Buddhist but I don't practice anything. I do pray sometimes and I used to meditate. I should start that again. I am into nature, astronomy, meteorology, gardening, animals, art, picture framing and caring for the Earth. Some bad things are I smoke and I drink but I want to stop both of those. I'm gay. Oh yeah, and I'm a Libra Taurus rising. Now for why I'm here.

I don't think I have epilepsy or migraines, but after trying a few different drugs the only one that keeps my symptoms sort of under control without too many side effects is Depakote (Divalproex Sodium) 1000mg a day. I also take Ativan when I feel panic. I never used to feel panic before the other symptoms though. This all started about 15 years ago. I'm in my mid 40s. What I think I have is migraine auras without headache caused by a spreading cortical depression. Mostly I get an expanding scintillating scotoma (fortification spectrum). It was rare when it first started but then it became more common, like once a week, and I started to get scared. Then I started to sometimes experience numbness on one side of my face or down one arm. Sometimes I couldn't talk right and I would lose my balance.