View Single Post
Old 06-03-2015, 05:39 AM
Wisest Elder Ever

15 yr Member
Wisest Elder Ever

15 yr Member
Lightbulb

While I am not an expert on thyroid.... I do have some suggestions based on your test results.

T4 has 4 iodine molecules on it, and T3 has 3. T4 is mostly made by the thyroid gland and is inactive. T3 is also made in small amounts and will respond to stress/injury/trauma hopefully. If you do not consume iodine in your salt (say you are on a low salt diet) or you do not use iodized salt, or you do not use a multivit with iodine in it, then you should consider using a kelp tablet daily. The average suggested iodine dose is 150-200mcg a day.
Here is a monograph on Iodine:
http://lpi.oregonstate.edu/mic/minerals/iodine

T4 is distributed to the tissues and converted there to T3 as needed. This is supported by two minerals, zinc and selenium.
So if you are low in either or both, you won't convert well.

Make sure you are taking a good multivitamin.... Centrum Silver will have all 3 nutrients in it.

Another thing to consider is that T3 is the cofactor for conversion and activation of betacarotene (pro-vitamin A). If a person is low in T3, or not converting, or any other hypothyroid reason, then you will not be making real Vit A for your needs.
When a person is an extreme hypo...their skin can turn orange...with the build up of betacarotene. But not everyone does. Centrum has a mixture of Vit A and betacarotene. It has 2500IU combined, with betacarotene listed at 40% of that.

When I was hypo years ago I had the orange skin. It went away slowly as I was corrected with T4.