View Single Post
Old 09-24-2015, 01:43 PM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member
Default Hey PurpleFoot

Quote:
Originally Posted by PurpleFoot721 View Post
Debi,

I'm so sorry to here about the recent passing of your husband. I couldn't even imagine going through life right now without mine. He has been an absolute blessing and has done everything within his abilities to pick up the things that I find so difficult to do anymore. To top it all off, you have kids and grandchildren that, although I am guessing your kids are grown up enough to take care of themselves, still look to you for love, compassion, advice and from time to time some help when you are able.

I am fairly new to all of this. So far, I haven't lost any friends. The close friends that I have know what is going on with me, at least somewhat, so whenever there is something going on, it is usually planned at our house. There have been a few things that were planned as an evening out that I couldn't make it to, but I always encouraged my husband to go to take the time off and enjoy himself. When he does, I constantly receive texts, or calls when he can, throughout the night telling me how much he wishes I was there.

Since this all started I have been out all of 2 times, not including trips to the doctors. Once for my niece's graduation party and the other for my birthday in which a few of my friends set up a campfire with a lounge chair where I could lie down and keep my leg elevated all evening. Both times I spent several days paying for it. It was nice to get out and do something though. I know that those that are close to me understand to some degree of what I am going through so they make an effort to step up and keep the relationship going strong. Those that aren't, well, I only see them once or twice a year, so none of them know anything about what I am going through yet. I will still try to talk to them on the phone from time to time, but chances are they will just drift away.