View Single Post
Old 11-02-2015, 07:36 AM

8 yr Member

8 yr Member

It actually does sound like your flat affect. I can overall see when I am being interesting or not to someone. But, I am completely unable to engage in the way I used to before. I can still tell from eye contact when someone has lost interest in what I am saying etc. I am just completely unable to smile in my mind and that doesn't allow me to connect with people.

I was a business consultant in NYC. I have a business background but have always thought heavily about depression, suicidal instincts, interaction stemming from my dad's heart attack and death when I was 12.

But, that said, my personality is of an extreme extrovert. I was going out every couple of days, meeting new people connecting before I got hurt. That obviously feels so far away right now.

The doctor I saw was a Neuropsychiatrist. He is based in Pittsburgh (referred to from a work connection as an expert in PCS) so we had a Skype meeting. I visited his website, he has published several articles on post concussion symptoms, apathy following post concussion, and has been practicing neuropsychiatry for over 25 years.

In terms of testing, he was more interested in just hearing how I interpreted my shortcomings. Since I continued to work for months following my last setback in July, doing a very high quality of work (such that my manager found it hard to believe anything could be wrong other than me just acting "like a weirdo" at work), it seems very unlikely that cognition, analytics are impaired. I can still break down issues and understand problems the same as before, so not as worried about that. I do have trouble finding the right word and accessing memory to some extent, but on days of that blockage removal that didn't feel like a problem at all, so not necessarily my focus right now.

Mark, how did you go about treating that flat affect? Are there certain foods or vitamins more important than others?