View Single Post
Old 11-23-2015, 01:42 AM

8 yr Member

8 yr Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by PurpleFoot721 View Post
I can't really say I have any recipes to share right now. I like to eat healthy, although since January, I have not been able to cook much at all. I am a rather good cook and that is one of the things that I really miss being able to do every day. I love being able to use my creativity to make different meals without having any written recipe, just create them based on what we have in the fridge that day. It is one of those things that many of my friends say I really shine at doing and expressing my creativity.

I by no means eat a really healthy diet, but I do try to eat at least somewhat healthy. I only use olive oil when oil is needed and always have more veggies on the plate than starches, grains, or meats. Changing to a healthier diet helped my dad a lot years ago when he was misdiagnosed with MS. He was misdiagnosed with MS back in the early 90's after loosing his vision and motor control of his arms while driving to work. It turned out to be an unusual case of arthritis where the inflammation caused pressure on his ocular nerve and some other nerves at the base of his neck. Eating a healthy diet of lots of fruits and veggies, limited grains, very limited fats, and no red meat has helped him immensely. Now that we are in our new house, maybe it's time I start watching some of the things that are known to cause inflammation.

Megsmountain, your recipe that you shared sounds very yummy! I love sauted spinach with garlic, (I like to add some pine nuts sometimes as well, but that falls into the grains and nuts which many of us are trying to avoid), and fresh salmon and trout, especially wild caught. I was just curious though, is consuming that much spinach, which contains high levels of oxalic acid, actually healthy? I know that a certain level of oxalates are healthy, but is eating many pounds a week still ok?