View Single Post
Old 01-12-2016, 04:22 PM

8 yr Member

8 yr Member
Default Hi Jay,

I'm glad I'm not the only one in this world with Spino Cerebella Ataxia. I'm Deb and I'm 64 years old. I was mis-diagnosed in the early 1980's with MS. I've lived as an MSer for 30+ years, even taking a weekly MS injection called Avonex. So far, I'm just learning about SCA. How the doctor found this is simple. I switched neurologists to a much better neuro. After seeing me a few times, they ran all kinds of tests on me here in my hometown. Then, the sent me to Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania (I'm in the USA) for conformation.

I'm still in my MS group. In fact we all got to be friends. I did tell the group when I was diagnosed with SCA (about 4 years ago), asked them if I could stay in the group now that I didn't have MS and they said yes. Whew! I really didn't want to leave my friends but was prepared to do so if they didn't want a non-MSer there. I've noticed since I was diagnosed with this that I've gone through everything that my MS friends have. I wonder if CSA is a disease that mimics MS to a point? I'll have to ask my neuro when I see him next month.

How do you know if you have SCA-2 or what? I guess this is something else to ask the doctor.

I can walk about 6 minutes without having to sit but am trying hard to improve that. I use a walker mainly but for long distances, I have a power-chair. I'm working on improving that. I sure hope I can! I bought myself a walking DVD to follow, and with the constant chatter out of the instructor on it, I find it fun to do! I have to admit that I can't do it everyday. Maybe that will change in the future too. I don't know. All I can do is keep on trying.