View Single Post
Old 01-14-2016, 03:41 PM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member

Quick reply because I'm short on time.

There's a few things to look into ....

First, do some more reading on Fermented CLO. There has been some watchdogs who have tested FCLO brands and found some real problems. Someone wrote a pamphlet / book about it. If you look around on the internet you'll find it. Also look up "Hook Line and Stinker: The Truth about FCLO by Kaayla Daniel Phd. Chris Kresser used to suggest FCLO and is now holding back because of these findings (see his site and comments).

Also, be careful with your D and A balance. There have been some studies showing that all those little old ladies who have traumatic childhood stories about how they were forced to take CLO as children back in the 1930s, then ended up with disproportionately more hip fractures in their elderly years.

The relationship between A & D is complex. I am not an expert but I know you need some A for D absorption but too much also impacts D and calcium in bones. Norway has followed up recently with some studies, particularly the impact of CLO on women, because their population has been swallowing gallons of the stuff for ages but they have a disproportionate number of certain types of diseases, perhaps exasperated by their geo location. Again, I am not an expert. Someone can correct me on this but I think it's worth thinking about.

Also, it's interesting in nature, how many of the orange / yellow vegetables with A come out in late fall to help us with our D absorption / storage into winter. We co-evolved with plants and so it's good to see if you can get all this stuff naturally first.