View Single Post
Old 03-20-2016, 12:28 AM

8 yr Member

8 yr Member
Default Barefoot too long!

I'm new to the forum. Hoping to learn from your experiences and share what I've discovered about CRPS.

I'm a clinical psychologist by training and used to do research. Thankful for this as it has given me a bit more credibility with medical personnel as I seek treatment and relief.

I sprained my ankle about 6 years ago, but it was not treated properly. I fell again in January 2015, and broke my ankle, tore two tendons, damaged my calf muscle and developed a Morton's neuroma by my toes. I had surgery to repair all this in March 2015 and was healing well. Four weeks post-surgery I began having hideous nerve spasms in my foot, and was eventually diagnosed with CRPS. I've tried a number of things to relieve pain and try to get back into a shoe:
- physical therapy that included desensitization, electro-stimulation, massage, and range of motion exercises. I had to quite because the pain was so horrible the night and day after sessions.
- Accupuncture, Accupuncture with electro-stim, and dry needling. These therapies were dreadful and exacerbated the pain and swelling in my foot.
- Medications: gabapentin and Lyrica were tried for the nerve spasms. Gabapentin didn't do much for me. I felt a little relief with Lyrica, but gained weight and felt like sitting and drooling all day. I couldn't think! I take cyclobenzaprine when the nerve spasms trigger muscle spasms in my calf. I am currently managing pain with either Vicodin or Ibuprofin. Neither eliminates the pain, but takes the edge off so I can usually function. 1-2 tablets of Vicodin knock me out, so I only use it when I'm really hurting.