View Single Post
Old 07-07-2007, 01:01 PM

15 yr Member

15 yr Member
Cool Let me introduce myself!

Hi all! I am a Brit with PD/parkinsonism and have EnglishCountryDancer to thank for alerting me to the existence of this site The UK PDS has only a few months ago started a Forum but it is very "freehand" so it is great to see how a similar venture has developed across the pond

I am fairly new to PD. I was not aware of any symptoms and in fact felt fit, well, energetic (working full-time ) and was otherwise healthy, having just returned to the UK from visiting chums in Florida, until 30 March 2006. On that day I had minor breast surgery. At the time I was taking anti-nausea medications and coming round some days post-op knew something very peculiar had happened as I couldn't remember how to move. Once home I remained stumbly, clumsy etc etc and my GP (family doctor in UK) referred me to a neurologist who immediately diagnosed either a drug-induced parkinsonism or PD itself. Time passed, I became slower than a slow-thing and remained stiff, clumsy etc so by the fourth neuro app in August 2006 I was started on Sinemet Plus (the frequency has been upped several times since). Gallbladder surgery in December saw me being again cared for on a high-dependency basis for 6 days (my system, really really doesn't like anaesthetic drugs it would seem!!!) and after this my balance became affected so I started using a stick. I am now also on low-dose Rotogotine but continue stiff, slow, not so much tremor-y, clumsy, stumbling and have to concentrate on everything I do, so fatigue is a big deal!