View Single Post
Old 09-04-2016, 03:56 PM

5 yr Member

5 yr Member

First, I would like you to know that your post is the reason that I registered for the Neurotalk Support Group today. I was browsing CRPS support groups looking for some that are fairly active and I came upon your post. Hopefully I will have some information to help you.

Next, I have to say that when I read that your PM is just now convinced that CRPS can spread, I actually checked the date of your post because I thought I may have read the date wrong. (2006 rather than 2016) I thought things were improving. I know that now more medical professionals are aware of CRPS, but it looks like we still have needs in this area. I was happy to see that you are being an advocate for yourself and therefore all CRPS patients. Thank you.

Now finally, I will get to the ketamine. I have been receiving ketamine infusions since early 2012. I broke my wrist in 2008 and was diagnosed with RSD soon after. My Primary Care Physician suggested that I make an appointment with Dr. Robert J. Schwartzman at Drexel University in Philadelphia, PA. I agreed to see him and had to wait almost 2 years for the appointment. During all those months, I learned as much about him as I could and I was impressed. He agreed with the diagnosis and noted signs of spread to my left foot. He recommended the 10 day out-patient ketamine infusion. After a lot of required testing according to his protocol, I finally started the infusion.

I can tell you that I was very nervous about the infusion, but I was provided with a great deal of information about the drugs that would be administered and their purpose. I can tell you that different doctors have different protocols. Each patient responds differently. Please keep that in mind as you read this. I don't know where your doctor trained, but his protocol had to come from somewhere, so ask him or his staff if that concerns you. I am a nervous Nell so everything concerns me.