View Single Post
Old 11-24-2016, 05:39 PM
Newly Joined

5 yr Member
Newly Joined

5 yr Member
Default Do I have OCD

Hi,

I am new to this so please bear with me.

I wanted some advice on how I have been feeling, I will start with my story...

I am a 26 year old with a 2 and a half year old daughter. I feel like I have an unhealthy obsession with her health, safety and well being. When she was born, we both had complications, I heormmorhaged and her blood sugar levels dropped and she was taken to special care. It wasn't a fun day, and to most it would appear that would be what has driven my obsessive behaviour, but I don't feel as though it is. I have always struggled with anxiety, as a teenager I went through stages of it being really bad on and off, and struggled with things I didn't understand and didn't mention to anyone. It is only the way I have been feeling recently that has highlighted to me quite how bad I was when I was younger. So anyway, my daughter since has been ok, she has had the usual illnesses, ear infection, tonsillitis etc. Which have just made me worse. As it is now winter, I am constantly checking her temperature, I would estimate that I am taking it around 40 times per day at the moment, in the fear she has a fever (it is more extreme at the moment as she had a fever last weekend and it has sent me a bit stir crazy). Once she has gone to bed, my anxiety is at it's worst, and I can check her every 10 minutes or so when it is really bad. I have been having my husband sleep on the sofa and she is in the bed with me at the moment as she has a cold and is congested, and it eases my anxiety to be able to have her next to me and for me to hear her breathe. Please note when she doesn't have a temperature or a cold, she sleeps in her own bed.