View Single Post
Old 01-13-2017, 12:45 PM

8 yr Member

8 yr Member

Hi Sophie. I can't really speak to your test results because I'm pretty new to this world of autoimmunity myself, but I also have autoimmune mediated SFN. I have rheumatoid arthritis (seropositive) and a positive ANA - which is the only reason I know with any certainty that my immune system is attacking me and therefore I have a somewhat clear reason for my neuropathy. I am going through all of the same questions you are, trying to figure out the right care to seek, the right treatment route, the best way to handle all of this.

I wanted to reply to you because I understand 100% your depression and I am experiencing it myself. I'm 31 years old and most of the time I feel like my life is over. It's very, very hard and it's difficult to find anybody in my "real life" that truly understands. I sit here often and wonder about my future and where I'll end up and I feel really sad about it. It's a devastating thing to feel so out of control over your own life and body. I honestly just sit here sometimes and cry. Other times I sit here and try to somehow convince myself that this is real and actually happening to me because it feels like a bad dream or something. It's a very hard thing to go through and I hate that ANYBODY goes through it, but I just wanted you to know that you're not alone.