View Single Post
Old 07-15-2017, 03:50 PM

5 yr Member

5 yr Member
Smile

Hi Sam,

I was waiting to pick my kids up from school and got hit in the head with a basketball. I'm 2 months in to my concussion. I get how you feel. I was so active in my life and so busy and got really depressed after this happened feeling like I would never get better. I couldn't work or go to my kids soccer games or do anything. I walked around with my head in a fog most of the time. And I felt like no one understood what I was going through. My doctor still doesn't get it. He keeps telling me I should be better by now. Even friends would see me and think I should be better.

I'm no expert. I'm still having issues. All I can write about is what has helped me with my depression.

1 - Telling everyone what I am going through. They call this the invisible injury because no one can see your broken brain. It's like when I broke my ankle and had crutches and a cast and everyone was like " yeah that must be hard to get around" and I could explain how I couldn't take out the garbage etc. But with a brain injury no one gets it. There is nothing to 'see'. No way for people to understand just by looking at you. So I post on Facebook how I am feeling and doing. So people know. I get a lot of understanding and support this way. Because people see me and think I'm fine. But I'm not. So I write about my daily experiences. What it's like to have foggy brain. Or how frustrating it is to get a headache after talking to someone. Or how last week if I titled my head in the shower I got sick but this week it's ok. I want people to know what I'm going through so they get it.